Approved: October 11, 2018

MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 248 GIRARD, KS SEPTEMBER 13, 2018

The Board of Education of Unified School District 248 met at the Board Office on Thursday, September 13, 2018. Vice-President, Beth Murphy, called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Board members present were: Roger Breneman, Dave Goble, Lori Johnson, Peggy Marshall, Beth Murphy, and Kelly Peak. Also present were: Superintendent, Blaise Bauer; Clerk, Becky Mein; Treasurer, Marilyn Bennett; MS Principal, BJ Pruitt; RVH Principal, Mark LaTurner; Assistant RVH Principal, Tina Peak; New Teachers; Taylor Bernot, Maggie Niederklein, Joanna Rose, Lindsay Schossow and Beth Wilson; BOE Office Assistant, Laurie Masters; Daryl Eagon, CPA with Diehl-Banwart-Bolton CPA's; and Hometown Girard Reporter, Cecily Perry.

Absent were: Board President, Dale Shireman; HS Principal, Todd Ferguson; and HS Assistant Principal, Tom Stegman

Lori Johnson moved, Dave Goble seconded the motion for the approval of the agenda, with additions: #17B-Adjustment to Supplemental Salary Schedule-GHS Multi-Media and #21A-Policy for "Use of Unmanned Aircraft Systems"; approval of the minutes of the August 9, 2018 board meeting and minutes of the August 16, 2018 Budget Hearing, approval of the treasurer's report and the bills be approved for payment, amounting to \$491,809.32. Motion carried. 6-0.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to approve the following donations: \$14,183.64-Pritchett Grant for RVH (Melodee Knopp); \$1,000.00-Pritchett Grant for RVH Art Supplies (Kim Smith); \$2,500.00-Pritchett Grant for GMS/GHS Media Center (Carrie Smith); \$3,000.00-Dollar General Literacy Foundation for RVH Literacy(Tina Peak); \$1,500.00-ETCO Specialty Products for Student Renaissance Programs; \$172,950.00-Kansas Public Pre-School Grant for RVH Pre-School; and \$5,000.00-Girard Youth Association for GHS Turf Project. Motion carried. 6 – 0.

Introduction of the new USD 248 Teaching Staff: Taylor Bernot, Maggie Niederklein, Joanna Rose, Lindsay Schossow and Beth Wilson.

Lori Johnson moved, Roger Breneman seconded the motion to approve the USD 248 audit report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018, as presented by Daryl Eagon, CPA. Motion carried. 6 - 0.

MS Principal, BJ Pruitt, presented the results of the Kansas Communities That Care Survey.

Elementary Principal, Mark LaTurner, presented information on the 4-Year-Old Pre-School program.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, presented preliminary district enrollment numbers.

Roger Breneman moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter executive session at 7:10 pm for a period of 5 minutes, for the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA with the Board Members, Superintendent and Administrators present. This executive session was required for Meet and Confer items. Motion carried. 6 – 0.

Back to regular session at 7:15 pm

Peggy Marshall moved, Kelly Peak seconded the motion to enter executive session at 7:15 pm for a period of 5 minutes, for the purpose of non-elected personnel exception under KOMA with the Board Members, Superintendent and Administrators present. This executive session was required to protect the privacy interests of an identifiable individual. Motion carried. 6 – 0.

Back to regular session at 7:20 pm

Dave Goble moved, Kelly Peak seconded the motion to approve the certified staff meet/confer recommendations and classified staff compensation. Motion carried. 6-0.

Lori Johnson moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to approve the following employment recommendations: Lucia Crellin-GMS Volleyball Coach, and adjustment to the Supplemental Schedule to include the change to the Multi-Media stipend. Motion carried. 6-0.

Principal reports were distributed in the Board Packets.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, presented information.

Beth Murphy and Lori Johnson presented their reports from the SEK Interlocal and Greenbush.

Peggy Marshall moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the KASB recommended policy "Use of Unmanned Aircraft Systems." Motion carried. 6 – 0.

Peggy Marshall moved, Dave Goble seconded the adjournment of the meeting at 7:45 pm. Motion carried. 6-0.

Becky Mein Clerk